A Workers’ Compensation Attorney in Utah Who Will Fight for You
If you’ve been injured on the job, you deserve to receive fair compensation for your injuries. Every employer in the State of Utah is required to hold workers’ compensation insurance. It’s vital to know your rights, and if your employer does not have workers’ compensation insurance or your claim for benefits has been denied, you need someone who knows how to navigate the legal system. That’s where Cockayne Law comes in. Here we’ve compiled basic information on workers’ compensation so you know what to expect. We’re standing by to defend you if you need an experienced worker’s compensation attorney you can trust. Contact us for compassionate and experienced representation in West Jordan and Ogden.
How Do I File for Workers’ Compensation and Get Medical Treatment?
If you’ve sustained an injury while you’re working, it’s important to notify your employer as soon as possible. You have up to 180 days after the incident to report it, but it’s advisable to report the situation immediately for accurate documentation.
Here are the basic steps of filing for workers’ compensation:
If your claim is approved, you’ll receive compensation that may include weekly pay for your time away from work and coverage of your medical expenses.
What workers’ Compensation Benefits can I Receive in Utah?
In the State of Utah, workers’ compensation benefits include:
While you’ll always be covered for injuries, you may receive reduced or barred disability compensation if it’s proven you were injured due to willful misconduct or under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
What if My Claim was Denied?
If your workers’ comp claim was denied or you have issues with coverage, you can contact the insurance company directly or request a hearing with the Labor Commission’s Adjudication Division. You can always represent yourself if you need to go to workers’ comp hearing and try to navigate the legal and insurance systems, but it’s wise to receive assistance from an attorney who understands all the laws and processes involved. That’s why you should call Cockayne Law. We’ll fight on your behalf and deal with all the details so you only have to concentrate on getting better.
What happens at a workers’ comp hearing?
If a settlement over benefits and compensation is not possible, a workers’ compensation hearing in front of a judge will be scheduled. During this hearing, you’ll get a chance to prove to judge why you should receive benefits. A hearing involves multiple proceedings, negotiations for settlement, and possibly an independent medical exam. A workers’ compensation lawyer like Chris Cockayne is extremely valuable for this process, as he’ll take care of the necessary paperwork, present evidence, and argue on your behalf. The judge won’t decide if you should receive compensation at the hearing. Within 30 to 90 days, the judge will issue their decision. During that time, you and your lawyer may be able to submit an additional brief to support your side of the case. You are able to appeal the decision if the judge rules against you.
Hire an Experienced workers’ comp attorney
You’re entitled to compensation and treatment if you’ve been injured at work. If you are not receiving fair compensation, the workers’ compensation attorney at Cockayne Law will advocate for you. You have enough on your plate with trying to heal. We’ll work to get you the justice you deserve. We have ample experience and a proven track record—in 2018, we recovered millions of dollars for accident victims in the State of Utah. Contact us today for representation in West Jordan and Ogden, UT.
Salt Lake Location:
6783 S Redwood Rd Suite 102
West Jordan, UT 84084, USA
2650 Washington Blvd Suite 102 D
Ogden, UT 84401
Car Accident Case Lawyers
Auto Accident Case Lawyers
Dog Bites Case Lawyers
Slip and Fall Injury Case Lawyers
Motorcycle Injury Case Lawyers
Cyclist Injury Representation
Pedestrian Case Lawyers